Where does your meat come from?

We left Cheyenne this morning in an incredible wind storm.  For people outside Wyoming, I must tell you that “incredible wind storm” is fraught with meaning.  Sixty miles an hour for 180 miles of highway. We made it, but did see a few campers laying on their side.

The destination was Big Horn, Wyoming.  We made arrangements to do some deer hunting with some good friends.  The number of deer in the area is astounding.  They are literally all over the place, and hunters can buy an unlimited number of whitetail doe / fawn licenses.  I was conservative in my outlook, and only bought 6.

This is the essence of meat hunting.  I know there are people who don’t like hunting, and there are even more who think that hunting does is just downright cruel.  In this case, as many deer as there are, it really is a matter of reducing the number so more can live.  It sounds a little backwards, but it really does work that way.

I have hunted since 1981.  I never hunted before that as it was not a part of my upbringing.  My family was city-bred and our meat came from the grocery store.  I moved to Montana and entered an entirely different culture, one where hunting was what everyone did.  I killed a deer that first year, and it was an eye-opening experience.  I had made the connection between my food and me.

I hunted every year until 1998. That year, I had gotten everything ready to go elk hunting in the morning when I got a phone call telling me that my Dad had died.  We drove from Cheyenne to South Milwaukee for his funeral, and when we returned, I had no desire to hunt again, which doesn’t make any sense because I never hunted with my Dad. But for the next ten years, my gun stayed in its case.

I am back at it now when I can find the time, and it feels natural.  I know that when I kill something, I will feel sadness about the end of the life of this beautiful animal.  Yet I know that this deer will feed my family, and it’s flesh help my grandchildren grow.

I know where my meat comes from, and I have an honest relationship with my food.  I acknowledge and give thanks to God for the gift I have been given, this beautiful creature.

This is the moon over Big Horn tonight.  Tomorrow, when it sets and the sun again fills the sky, we will hunt deer.

Moon over the Big Horns

Moon over the Big Horns

One Response to “Where does your meat come from?”

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! | Matt's 365 Project Says:

    […] them, prepped them in the field, butchered them, wrapped and ate them.  This all part of the food honesty I wrote about […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

